Georgia Women’s Amateur Championship

2021 Championship Results       
2021 Champion Interview

92nd Georgia Women's Amateur Championship
Coosa Country Club, Rome
June 28-30, 2021


Entering the final round with a three-shot lead, Jenny Bae of Lawrenceville stepped on the gas early and never looked back capturing the 92nd Georgia Women's Amateur Championship. The 54-hole championship was contested at Coosa Country Club.

Bae began the final round up by three over Tess Davenport of Buford, a rising junior at Vanderbilt University. An easy par got the day started
for Bae who then took advantage of the par-5 second rolling in a birdie to calm any potential early nerves.

The University of Georgia rising senior would then go on to make six-straight pars before finishing the front nine in style with a birdie.

A bogey on the par-3 10th hole slowed Bae's momentum a bit, but she stayed aggressive on the par-5 11th by going for the green in two successfully, which set up an easy birdie opportunity. 

Bae kept pushing making birdies on No. 13 and No. 15 to continue increasing her advantage going into the home stretch. Bae made
back-to-back bogeys to end her final round, but it did not matter as she finished at 2-under-par (70) for the day and five shots clear of
Davenport (70-68-72) to claim the Eleanor M. Keeler Memorial Trophy at 11-under-par (69-66-70).

With a 6-under-par 66 in round two, Bae was also awarded the Ceil Maclaurin Trophy, which goes to the player with the low round of the championship.

For Bae, she becomes the second player to capture the Georgia Women's Amateur Championship, Georgia Women's Match Play Championship and Georgia Girls' Championship joining current LPGA player Mariah Stackhouse. 

Ivy Shepherd of Peachtree City (72-70-70) and Katherine Cook of Thomasville (73-68-71) finished in a tie for third at 4-under-par for the championship, while Megan Sabol of Martinez rounded out the top five at 3-under-par (72-71-70).

In the Tournament Division, Danielle Davis of St. Simons Island (78-84-83) took home Flight One and Michelle McKinnon of Johns Creek (85-88-87) captured Flight Two.

Laura Coble of Augusta, a Georgia Golf Hall of Famer, won the Burns Cup, which is awarded to the low senior champion.

Format and Schedule
The Georgia Women's Amateur Championship format is 54 holes of individual stroke play.

Entries are open to female amateur golfers who belong to a GSGA Member Club and are residents of Georgia.

Event History
The Georgia Women's Amateur Championship began in 1930 as a match play championship with Mrs. W.D. Doak winning the first trophy. Ten Georgia Golf Hall of Famers have captured the championship: Laura Coble, Mary Lena Faulk, Dot Kirby, Martha Kirouac, Ceil MacLaurin, Janet Olp, Hollis Stacy, Eileen Stulb, Louise Suggs and Billie Wickliffe. Stacy and Suggs are both members of the World Golf Hall of Fame as well. MacLaurin holds the crown for the most victories in championship history with eight  (1952, 1964-1965, 1970, 1972-1975), while Coble (1999, 2003-2005, 2007, 2012) and Olp (1981, 1983-1985, 1987, 1997) have each won six times.


The Georgia State Golf Association (GSGA) is the governing body of golf in Georgia and serves as an Allied Golf Association to the United States Golf Association (USGA). Membership in the GSGA is open to all golfers, facilities and golf clubs throughout the state. Golfers that join the GSGA have access to invaluable resources that allow them to advance their knowledge of the game and numerous opportunities to play in both competitive and fun, casual events. By becoming a member of the GSGA, you will be joining a community that includes more than 350 clubs and 80,000 golfers who all have one thing in common: a passion for the game of golf.