Georgia Senior Championship

The Georgia Senior Championship is open to male amateur golfers who are GSGA members, Georgia residents and age 55 or older as of the first day of the championship.The format is 54 holes of stroke play with the field cut to the low 70 and ties after 36 holes. From 1963-71, the Senior Champion was awarded the Claude N. Hughes Trophy. There was no Championship conducted from 1972-86. It returned in 1987 with Johnny Skeadas of Savannah winning the title. Beginning in 1998, the Skeadas family now awards the trophy, named in his honor, to the Champion each year.

Year Champion Hometown Result Host Club Runner Up
2023 Jack Larkin, Sr. Atlanta 207 Doublegate Country Club, Albany
2022 Doug Hanzel Savannah 207 Green Island Country Club, Columbus
2021 Jack Larkin Atlanta 207 Augusta Country Club
2020 Louis Brown Marietta 204 The Standard Club, Johns Creek
2019 Bob Royak Alpharetta 211 Cherokee Town & Country Club, Atlanta
2018 Chris Hall Marietta 214 Pinetree Country Club, Kennesaw
2017 Bob Royak Alpharetta 204 Idle Hour Club, Macon
2016 Chris Hall Marietta 214 The Legends at Chateau Elan, Braselton
2015 Doug Hanzel Savannah 205 The Brickyard at Riverside, Macon
2014 Doug Hanzel Savannah 213 Doublegate Country Club, Albany
2013 Jack Hall Sea Island 202 The Landings Club (Deer Creek), Savannah
2012 Doug Hanzel Savannah 203 Reynolds Lake Oconee (Great Waters), Eatonton
2011 Jimmy Jackson Macon 216 Forest Heights Country Club, Statesboro
2010 Spencer Sappington Milton 211 Achasta Golf Club, Dahlonega
2009 Jimmy Thomas Johns Creek 214 Green Island Country Club, Columbus
2008 Bill Ploeger Columbus 213 The Landings Club (Marshwood), Savannah
2007 Spencer Sappington Milton 217 The Ford Plantation, Richmond Hill
2006 Larry Clark Kennesaw 211 Cherokee Town & Country Club, Atlanta
2005 Spencer Sappington Alpharetta 214 Doublegate Country Club, Albany
2004 Spencer Sappington Alpharetta 220 Country Club of Columbus
2003 Spencer Sappington Alpharetta 224 Savannah Golf Club
2002 Frank Costanzo Savannah 211 The Landings Club (Deer Creek), Savannah
2001 Tom Reid Macon 214 West Lake Country Club, Augusta
2000 Dick Van Leuvan Atlanta 213 Green Island Country Club, Columbus
1999 Bill Ploeger Columbus 225 Griffin Country Club
1998 Joe Estes Atlanta 218 Pinetree Country Club, Kennesaw
1997 Bill Ploeger Columbus 144 The Farm, Rocky Face
1996 Richard Tatum Atlanta 226 Highland Country Club, LaGrange
1995 Bill Ploeger Columbus 212 Country Club of Columbus
1994 Earl Bowden Macon 222 Idle Hour Club, Macon
1993 Bill Myers Marietta 222 Druid Hills Golf Club, Atlanta
1992 Johnny Skeadas Savannah 216 Coosa Country Club, Rome
1991 Walt Fugate Macon 220 Eagle's Landing Country Club, Stockbridge
1990 Walt Fugate Macon 143 Brookstone Country Club, Acworth
1989 Joe Estes Atlanta 226 The Landings Club (Oakridge), Savannah
1988 Les Noel Atlanta 222 Sheraton Savannah Resort
1987 Johnny Skeadas Savannah 223 The Landings Club (Plantation), Savannah
1972-1986 No championship was not conducted.
1971 Art Patchin
1970 Tom Forkner
1969 Tom Forkner
1968 Bill Zimmerman
1967 Bill Zimmerman
1965 Tom Dever
1964 Zeke Carter
1963 C.O. Murphy


No items currently match your filtering criteria.

Join our community of more than 95,000 golfers in Georgia who are passionate about the game of golf.

Join the GSGA