Georgia Amateur Championship Records

Championship History

The Georgia Amateur Championship began in 1916 and has been contested at 29 different GSGA Member Clubs in 20 cities. The year 2016 marked the 100th anniversary of the inaugural event. Beginning with 14-year-old Bobby Jones, who captured that first title in 1916 (still the youngest Amateur champion), there have been 70 different winners in the history of the event.

Champions Tour player and two-time U.S. Senior Open champion, Allen Doyle of LaGrange, lays claim to the most titles (6), won between 1978 and 1990. Arnold Blum pocketed five titles from 1946-56. Legendary Atlanta amateur Danny Yates has three championships to his credit 1977, 1989 and 1996.

Click Here For Full List of Records

There have been 70 different winners in the history of the championship.

Past Champions


Georgia State Golf Association is the official golf association of the state of Georgia, and its membership is open to men, women, juniors, seniors, and golf clubs throughout the state. Golfers who join GSGA have access to invaluable resources and competitions that allow them to advance their knowledge and improve their golfing skills. Joining GSGA means joining an association of more than 350 clubs and 75,000 people who all have one thing in common: a love of golf.