The Bill Todd Award

John Glenn of Thomasville Named GSGA's Bill Todd Award Winner

MARIETTA, Ga. - John Glenn of Thomasville was named the recipient of the Georgia State Golf Association's Bill Todd Award, the highest honor bestowed upon a GSGA volunteer. The award was presented at the Association's 2019 Annual Meeting, held at Cherokee Town Club in Atlanta, January 19.

This year's recipient has dedicated many years of service to the GSGA in a variety of ways. Glenn began volunteering with the GSGA in the 1990's, specifically serving as a rules official at many competitions across the state.

Over the years he became more involved with the Association's finances, serving on and as Chair of the Finance Committee for close to 15 years. Glenn served on the Executive Committee for six years from 2005 to 2010 in the role of Secretary/Treasurer.

Glenn was presented the Bill Todd Award by previous winners who were in attendance at the Annual Meeting.

About the Award

The Bill Todd Award honors a volunteer who maintains the highest standard of service and stewardship to the GSGA. The presentation of this award honors the memory of one of the GSGA’s most valued volunteers (right) who spent more than 20 years serving the Association. Todd served as GSGA’s president in 1995 and gave of his time in many ways before his passing in 2001.

Originally known as the President's Service Award, it was renamed in 2002. It was then deemed that all former winners of the President's Service Award would also be known as Bill Todd Award winners. A winner may be chosen annually, but not necessarily every year, by a committee that includes all past recipients and volunteers from each area of GSGA service.

Bill Todd Award History

1993:  Billy Peters, Blakely
1996:  Col. F. "Ike" Fenton, Peachtree City*
1998:  Bill Todd, Marietta*
2000:  Gene McClure, Atlanta
2002:  Nancy Henning, Roswell*
2003:  Roger Cordes, Decatur*
2004:  Adrian C. McManus, Jr., Athens*
2005:  Bob Henning, Roswell*
2006:  Richard R. (Dick) Franklin, Dunwoody*
2007:  W. Richard Wilson, Columbus
2008:  G. Alan Katz, Marietta*
2009:  Bob Flynn, Kennesaw*
2010: Wendell Couch, Greensboro
2011:  Pete Cox, Cobb
2012:  Bill Blalock, Atlanta
2013:  Sissi Gann, Kathleen
2015:  Paul Murphy, Fayetteville*
2016:  Ed Barnes, Peachtree City
2017:  Ray Haas, Big Canoe
2018: Olivia Flanagan, Albany
2019: John Glenn, Thomasville


The Georgia State Golf Association (GSGA) is the governing body of golf in Georgia and serves as an Allied Golf Association to the United States Golf Association (USGA). Membership in the GSGA is open to all golfers, facilities and golf clubs throughout the state. Golfers that join the GSGA have access to invaluable resources that allow them to advance their knowledge of the game and numerous opportunities to play in both competitive and fun, casual events. By becoming a member of the GSGA, you will be joining a community that includes more than 350 clubs and 75,000 golfers who all have one thing in common: a passion for the game of golf.