2017 Four-Ball Championship


Georgia Four-Ball Championship Heads to The Golf Club of Georgia


The 46th annual Georgia Four-Ball Championship takes place Friday, April 28, through Sunday, April 30, at the Golf Club of Georgia in Alpharetta. The format will be 54 holes of four-ball stroke play with the field of 80 teams cut to the low 40 and ties after 36 holes.

Entries were open to two-man teams of male amateur golfers.

Host Club: The Golf Club of Georgia
The director of golf is Matthew Evans and the superintendent is Robert Wilson. The club phone is (770) 664-8644.

Competitor Highlights

  • A winner from five of the previous six Four-Ball Championships are competing this week. Last year, Michael Standard of McDonough won, and is back in the field this year. Cason Hammock and Jason Fober, both of Columbus, have won this event two times (2015, 2011). The 2014 winners were Cres Dodd of Calhoun and Greg Johnson of Cartersville. In 2012, Travis Steed of Macon teamed up with Mark Sweeney of Monroe to claim victory. 


  • The Golf Club of Georgia in Alpharetta is hosting a GSGA-sanctioned competition for the eighth time, and first Georgia Four-Ball Championship since 1998. It also played host to the 1993 Georgia Amateur Championship, 1994 Top 40 Women's Classic (now Top 60), and four Billy Peters Cup Matches (1995, 1997, 1999, 2001).


Get Social with GSGA
Log on to www.gsga.org for daily results and other GSGA news. Be sure to follow the GSGA on Twitter (www.twitter.com/gsga) using the hashtag #GSGA4BallC, Facebook (www.facebook.com/gsga1916) and Instagram (www.instagram.com/gsga1916) to receive daily updates from this competition.



Click for forecast!