Sissi Gann Named 2013 Bill Todd Award Winner

Sissi Gann of Kathleen was named the recipient of the Georgia State Golf Association’s Bill Todd Award for 2013, the highest honor bestowed upon a GSGA volunteer.

Longtime volunteer honored for outstanding service to the Association

Click here for more information about the Bill Todd Award and its history.

MARIETTA, Ga. – Sissi Gann of Kathleen was named the recipient of the Georgia State Golf Association’s Bill Todd Award for 2013, the highest honor bestowed upon a GSGA volunteer.  The award was presented at the Association’s Annual Meeting, held January 19 at Cherokee Town Club in Atlanta.

The Bill Todd Award honors a volunteer who maintains the highest standard of service and stewardship to the GSGA.  It is named for one of GSGA’s most valued volunteers who spent more than 20 years serving the Association. Todd served as GSGA’s president in 1995 and gave of his time in many ways before his passing in 2001.

Like Todd, this year’s recipient has dedicated many years of service to the Georgia State Golf Association in a variety of areas. Gann has worked as a volunteer rules official and has served on GSGA’s Championship Committee while also chairing the Women’s Tournament Committee for over a decade.  Also during that span, Gann served as a member of GSGA’s Executive Committee from 2001 to 2006.  

Gann is known as a tireless promoter of encouraging all ages and skills levels to get involved in the game.  She currently serves on GSGA’s Member Play Day Committee and assists with activities such as the annual Girls’ Golf Day.  She has also been involved with other golf organizations on the state, regional and national levels, including serving on the Boards of both the Georgia Golf Hall of Fame and the Georgia Women’s Golf Association, as a past state representative for the Women’s Southern Golf Association and a past chair of the USGA’s Women’s Regional Affairs Committee.

In 2009 and 2011, GSGA asked Gann to serve as captain of Georgia’s team for the USGA Women’s State Team Championship, and she delivered in a big way.  In 2009, the team posted a decisive, nine-stroke victory, bringing home the trophy from Indiana.  In 2011, the state of Georgia hosted the event at The Landings Club in Savannah, and the Gann-led home squad did not disappoint.  Georgia rallied late in the final round to secure its second-straight and third overall title in the biennial competition.

A competitive player in her own right, Gann is a familiar face at GSGA women’s events, many since their inception. She has participated in the Georgia-Florida Women’s Team Matches and has collected four Georgia Women’s Team Championships, including a victory in the inaugural event in 1986.

Bill Todd Award Committee chair Chris Cupit said during the award presentation, “Some would say Sissi is the life of the party; always leading the way at social gatherings and engaging everyone with her infectious smile.”

Gann was presented the award by previous winners who were in attendance at the Annual Meeting, including Gene McClure of Atlanta (2000), Nancy Henning of Roswell (2002), W. Richard Wilson of Columbus (2007), Bob Flynn of Kennesaw (2009), Wendell Couch of Greensboro (2010), Pete Cox of Cobb (2011) and last year’s winner, Bill Blalock of Atlanta. 

Unbeknownst to Gann, her husband Stan, son Stan Jr., brother and sister-in-law Frasier and Kate Smith, and other special friends all traveled from out of town to be on hand for the event, making an already surprising award presentation even more meaningful for the recipient.

“I am shocked,” Gann said. “I knew Bill Todd; I played golf with Bill Todd, so I am so honored just to be included on this award because I knew what a great person he was.

“I love golf.  It’s always been my passion, and I love sharing it with others,” she continued.

The presentation of this award honors Todd’s memory and recognizes an individual who exemplifies his volunteer spirit and involvement.  Originally known as the President’s Service Award, it was renamed in 2002.  It was then deemed that all former winners of the President’s Service Award would also be known as Bill Todd Award winners.  A winner may be chosen annually, but not necessarily every year, by a committee that includes all past recipients and volunteers from each area of GSGA service.